Gazprom — RusVelo is to compete in the prestigious Swiss race

3This Thursday 8th of June Gazprom — RusVelo is heading to Switzerland to compete in the highest category race GP du canton d’Argovie.

The inception of GP du canton d’Argovie dates back to 1964. Throughout the history the contest has grown to the most prestigious one-day race in Switzerland with a 1.HC UCI category.

As in the previous edition riders are to cover 10 laps of 18,87 kilometres, which sums up to 188,7 kilometres in total. The lap features only two hill climbs: the 2,5 kilometres long with 3,9% gradient on the first part and 500 metres long ascent with approximate 5% gradient on the final kilometre. The race is expected to be in a high tempo and finish with a bunch sprint.

GP du canton d’Argovie traditionally has a tremendous list of participants and this year won’t be an exception with ten WT squads and the strongest Pro Continental teams.

The top man of Gazprom — RusVelo for this race is Roman Maikin. The flat road course suits his abilities and the two hill climbs shouldn’t be a great challenge for him. The joint effort is set up to bring the leader to the front position on the final lap, so that Roman could compete for the top places.

The young rider of Gazprom — RusVelo Evgeny Shalunov who showed great performance at Giro d’Italia gave a comment before the upcoming race: “After my debut in Giro I feel greater than ever. It gave me confidence, as I didn’t just participate in the Italian Grand Tour, but also made it memorable. Actually I was afraid to toil away for the last days, fortunately, it didn’t happen. Now I am setting up for the second part of the season. After my first GT I am not quite sure what to expect from my legs on the upcoming race. Nevertheless, I will definitely do my best for the team. The list of contenders is very impressive, but I think we have all the chances to fight for the highest places.”

Gazprom – RusVelo line-up: Igor Boev, Artur Ershov, Roman Maikin, Artem Nych, Andrey Solomennikov, Sergey Nikolaev, Evgeny Shalunov, Dmitry Kozonchuk.